Wanderings & observations – urban & rural.

Between Worlds

Yesterday was a day of strange magic -

our day trip planned,

we headed south, but then directions led us awry -

we lost time.

Later we made a quick stop at the last store on the road.

Like the middle of nowhere, a strange feeling there -

I shoved my wallet in my right pocket,

and my phone in my left. I used the facilities, walked back to the car, and

one pocket was empty. No phone.

Just gone, as if by

magic…

I made a big effort to let go-

(no, I said to myself, it’s NOT my identity, not my tether to the world. There are

more substantial tethers: wonder, the veins of green leaves, pounding waterfalls).

Driving south on the winding mountain road, we notice

Search and Rescue trucks

parked on the shoulder.

We don’t see what happens a few hours later: her

body

brought down the

mountain:

old desolate, she called herself.

Her last hike:

was there wonder, and

magic in it?

The turquoise Ohanapecosh River churned

a mile or so south of her last steps, it

thundered over ancient rocks, carving circles in them.

Ancient cedars and firs towered there – burled with rings of

wonder, bark woven, tiny blue flowers at their feet.

And bright pink flowers bobbed in the breeze on a wall of rock

that plunged

into the water, the frothy

turquoise Ohanapecosh, its power

hemmed by rocks that I scrambled across quickly, oblivious to

her body’s slow descent

a mile or so away.  I pranced joyfully on the rocks, too close to the edge -

as I always do.

And her body was found and brought down

to the waiting vehicles we passed

on our way to see tree giants and foaming rivers.

 

Our worlds reflect each other like Indra’s net -

jewels that mirror, worlds that almost touch, slender threads…

Her words perch on my Flickr page,

written on the day she left for

this last hike. She wrote,

“You captured the vastness…”

under my photo of a field and fencepost.

Yes.

Vastness and

magic and yes,

she died, as they are saying today, doing-what-she-loved

on the mountain where

we wandered yesterday,

inside magic.

Karen Sykes, R.I.P.

Seattle Times article

Old desolate’s Flickr photos

 

20 responses

  1. A beautifully photographed and written post. And, a fine tribute. Would that we should all die following our passions.

    June 23, 2014 at 12:26 am

    • George, I’m not surprised you would say that. It makes you think, doesn’t it? But now they’re saying she dies of hypothermia, and possibly secondary to a hear condition, and that’s not a pretty picture. But I don’t know. She was very, very experienced at 70 yrs old. She knew what she was doing. She walked ahead of her partner and didn’t come back. The rest is still half mystery…

      June 24, 2014 at 9:24 pm

  2. Anne

    Lynn, this is such a beautiful homage to lives lived fully.

    June 23, 2014 at 4:24 am

    • Thank you Anne – I know you understand and I’m always glad to hear from you…:-) be well!

      June 24, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  3. Love living in the backyard of the Olympics in Sequim, WA. I am now following your blog. Melody Donkey Whisperer Farm, Sequim, WA

    June 23, 2014 at 7:26 am

    • Oh, the lavender farms – and donkeys! – of Sequim! I’ll have to look you up next time I’m over there. Thank you so much, and thanks for commenting.

      June 24, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  4. The splendid pictures beautifully complement the poignant content of the text.

    June 23, 2014 at 7:37 am

    • Thank you for your generous comment, Louis. I appreciate it!

      June 24, 2014 at 9:19 pm

  5. Kind of spooky, but not in a bad way. Such a great tribute.

    June 23, 2014 at 11:56 am

    • Yes exactly. It was very strange, the whole day. SO I had to write about it.

      June 24, 2014 at 9:18 pm

  6. 2geeks3knots

    A beautiful tribute to Karen Sykes. Thank you, Lyn.

    June 23, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    • Thanks, Geeks. The more I learn about her, the more I am sorry I didn’t meet her. A lost opportunity, but that’s life.

      June 24, 2014 at 9:17 pm

  7. Magnificent image and beautiful tribute to you dear friend. How very sad.

    June 25, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    • Thank you – she wasn’t really a friend, but someone I wish I had met – our interests and passions are similar. I look at her Flickr page and some of the photos look so much like photos I’ve taken – her last post was about a hike in a place I went to recently, etc.

      June 26, 2014 at 12:01 pm

  8. Sorry, that should have said “images” not image.

    June 25, 2014 at 9:08 pm

  9. Agree with all the comments above: words/pictures convey a beautiful homage.

    June 26, 2014 at 12:02 pm

  10. This is such a poignant post, rich in visual and also just a love for life. The 4th photo reminds me so much of hiking and just being washed up with all the beauty around ~ which makes this area a great place to live. Well done.

    June 29, 2014 at 8:13 pm

  11. There is a sadness, of course, in our world losing someone of her caliber, but at least it was in that manner. Thank you for the tribute…your beautiful words.

    June 29, 2014 at 8:48 pm

  12. to be in this world but not of this world

    July 17, 2014 at 8:31 am

  13. A beautiful tribute, Lynn. Lovely photos too.

    July 19, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers